ST. CLAIR TOWNSHIP COUNCIL MINUTES SESSION # 26

St. Clair Civic Centre Council Chambers December 6, 2010 7:00 p.m.

The regular semi-monthly meeting of the Council of the Corporation of the Township of St. Clair was held this evening with the following members present:

	S. Arnold	Mayor
	P. Gilliland,	Deputy Mayor
	P. Carswell-Alexander,	Councillor
	J. DeGurse,	"
	D. Randell,	"
	S. Miller,	"
	J. Agar,	"
Staff:	J. Rodey,	CAO
	J. DeMars,	Director of Administration/Clerk/
		Deputy CAO
	J. Baranek	Deputy Clerk/Coordinator of Planning

AGENDA:

- 1. Welcome to guests CAO
- 2. Call to order Clerk
- 3. Council elect assumes its positions
- 4. Oath of Elected Office and Oath of Allegiance Clerk
 Mayor
 Deputy Mayor
- 5. Oath of Elected Office and Oath of Allegiance Deputy Clerk

Councillors

- 6. Mayor assumes chair
- 7. Presentation of Gavel of Office to Mayor CAO
- 8. Invocation Reverend Margaret Bell
- 9. Introduction of Council by Mayor Steve Arnold

Deputy Mayor: Pete Gilliland Councillors: Steve Miller

Pat Carswell-Alexander

Darrell Randell Jeff Agar Jim DeGurse

- 10. Inaugural remarks Mayor Arnold Deputy Mayor Councillors
- 11. Recognition of Dignitaries by Mayor Arnold
- 12. Motion to Adjourn

13. Reception

The Clerk called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and called upon CAO John Rodey to welcome the guests in the audience present to witness the inauguration of the fourth Council of the Township of St. Clair. The Clerk also welcomed those in attendance and provided a brief explanation as to the procedures that would be followed at this inaugural meeting. The Clerk called upon members of Council to assume their position at the Council table. The Clerk proceeded to provide the oath of elected office and the oath of allegiance to Mayor Arnold, Deputy Mayor Gilliland and Councillor Miller. At the conclusion of the ceremony, the Clerk advised that he wanted to acknowledge to those in attendance that in his 35 years experience, Mayor Arnold was only the second different head of Council that he has sworn in to office. The Clerk advised that he chose to swear in Councillor Miller since he first administered the oath of office to Councillor Miller over 28 years ago. Deputy Clerk Jeff Baranek administered the oath of elected office and the oath of allegiance to Councillor Carswell-Alexander, Councillor Randell, Councillor Agar and Councillor DeGurse. At this point in the meeting the Mayor and Council assumed their chairs and the Mayor was presented the gavel of office by the CAO. Mayor Arnold then called upon Reverend Margaret Bell who provided the invocation. At the conclusion of the invocation, Mayor Arnold introduced Deputy Mayor Gilliland and the members of Council and provided his opinion as to their wisdom and skills that will be brought to the 2010 – 2014 Council for the continued progress in St. Clair Township. In his inaugural remarks, Mayor Arnold touched on the achievements made by the previous Council and stated his goals to see several projects completed in this term of Council such as the Froomfield sanitary sewer system, continuation of shoreline remediation at the former St. Clair Parkway parks assets, construction of the second building facility at the Sombra Museum and the continued improvement of Township roads and streets. Mayor Arnold then called upon members of Council to provide a brief address.

Deputy Mayor Gilliland congratulated Mayor Arnold on his recent election to the position of Lambton County Warden. All members of Council expressed their optimism on the positive achievements this Council could achieve and recognized the strong leadership skills and abilities of Mayor Arnold in the past term which they anticipate will continue in the 2010-2014 term.

Mayor Arnold then recognized past Councillor Pat Brown and past Councillor and Deputy Mayor Arnold Pole. At the conclusion of the ceremony, Mayor Arnold invited those in attendance to attend a reception and a time of Fellowship.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by S. Miller That the meeting do hereby adjourn.	Seconded by D. Randell CARRIED
The meeting adjourned at 7:40 p.m.	
 MAYOR	CLERK
MATOK	CLEKK